Semperoper

Semperoper

Semperoper - location of the ceremony

Pictures and symbols make the most impact in public discourse. But rarely, new and strong symbols are created. Symbols that will henceforth stand for an unmistakable attitude, a clear message. In December 2014 the Semperoper established such a symbol. In fact, to put it simply, with a quick reach to the light switch.

For weeks, the Pegida movement had been occupying the Theaterplatz with their gatherings every Monday. The opera house no longer wanted to passively offer its stunning scenery for demonstrations propagating xenophobic and exclusionary paroles. Subsequently, the buildings’ lighting was turned off. Everything that lent the Theaterplatz its distinctive appearance was gone – certainly an action with profound impact.

Prior to that, acting director Wolfgang Rothe had been in touch with the Gläserne Manufaktur a glass-walled automotive factory of Volkswagen and numerous other institutions of the city and the world. Following the Semperoper’s example the Gläserne Manufaktur turned the lights off for the first time this very evening – a sign against Pegida.

Shortly after the same happened in Cologne. When Pegida – albeit quite decimated – marched up it was “Lights out for racists”: the lighting of Cologne Cathedral and other public buildings was turned off.

The Semperoper frequently takes up a stance in many different ways. On its façade hangs a banner with its motto “Für ein weltoffenes Dresden”. From October 2015 to June 2016 employees of the building showed their colours for cosmopolitanism and against xenophobia on a huge screen in the Exedra of the opera house.

Since 2010 the Dresden Prize has been awarded in close collaboration with the Semperoper in the well-known opera house at Theaterplatz.

In the night of the 13th to the 14th February 1945 the Semperoper was hit by bombs and burned out in its entirety. Fly tower and auditorium in particular were heavily damaged, the interior design almost completely destroyed. After eight years of reconstruction, Gottfried Semper’s magnificent opera house could solemnly be reopened on 13th February 1985. Since then, every year on February 13, a requiem is performed to commemorate this night’s bomb victims.

By awarding the International Peace Prize the opera house has become a symbolic place to an even greater extent: Turning against violence and xenophobia and strongly standing up for peace, reconciliation and international understanding.

Semperoper

Semperoper

Semperoper - der Ort der Preisverleihung

Es sind die Bilder und es sind die Symbole, die im öffentlichen Diskurs die stärkste Wirkung erzielen. Aber es ist selten, dass neue, starke Symbole kreiert werden. Symbole, die künftig für eine unmissverständliche Haltung, eine klare Botschaft stehen. Im Dezember 2014 hat die Semperoper ein solches Symbol geschaffen. Und zwar, simpel formuliert, mit einem Griff zum Lichtschalter.

Seit Wochen hatte Pegida jeden Montag den Theaterplatz mit ihren Versammlungen belegt. Die Oper wollte nicht länger die Kulisse bieten für diese Demonstrationen mit fremdenfeindlichen und ausgrenzenden Parolen. Also schaltete man die Beleuchtung im Haus ab. Das, was allabendlich dem Theaterplatz sein Gesicht verleiht, war fort. Eine Aktion, die Wirkung zeigte.

Vorab hatte sich der amtierende Intendant Wolfgang Rothe mit der Gläsernen Manufaktur und vielen weiteren Institutionen der Stadt und der Welt verständigt. Und so folgte der Semperoper die Gläserne Manufaktur und schaltete auch an diesem Abend das erste Mal als Zeichen gegen Pegida das Licht aus.

Kurz darauf tat man es auch in Köln. Als auch dort Pegida – wenn auch sehr dezimiert – aufmarschierte, hieß es „Licht aus für Rassisten“, wurde die Beleuchtung am Dom und anderen öffentlichen Gebäude ausgeschaltet.

Die Semperoper zeigt immer wieder und auf unterschiedliche Weise Haltung. Für ein weltoffenes Dresden, ist auf einem Spruchband an der Fassade zu lesen. Von Oktober 2015 bis Juni 2016 zeigten Mitarbeiter des Hauses auf einem großen Bildschirm in der Exedra der Oper Gesicht für Weltoffenheit und gegen Fremdenfeindlichkeit.

Seit 2010 wird der Dresden-Preis in enger Partnerschaft mit der Semperoper in dem Haus am Theaterplatz verliehen.

In der Nacht vom 13. auf den 14. Februar 1945 wurde auch die Semperoper von Bomben getroffen und brannte aus. Bühnenhaus und Zuschauerraum wurden besonders schwer beschädigt, die Innenarchitektur fast vollständig zerstört. Nach acht Jahren Wiederaufbaus konnte Gottfried Sempers prachtvolles Opernhaus am 13. Februar 1985 festlich wiedereröffnet werden. Seither wird jährlich am 13. Februar zum Gedenken an die Opfer der Bombennacht in der Oper ein Requiem aufgeführt.

Mit der Verleihung des Internationalen Friedenspreises ist die Oper in noch stärkerem Maße ein Symbolort geworden, der sich gegen Gewalt und Fremdenfeindlichkeit wendet und für Frieden, Versöhnung und Völkerverständigung einsteht.